Slight Change

I’m going to break character here, briefly, to announce a slight change in the schedule for REVISIONS. For a few weeks now I have been putting up two columns a week, and I have learned something about endurance: I have less of it than I thought.

Hereby I am switching to a more manageable once-a-week schedule; columns will otherwise be as they have been. The next new piece will appear on Tuesday, June 23, and on Tuesdays from here on out.

Since I might as well use this otherwise atypical post to make at least one contribution to the discourse of literature – and to put an addendum on my discussion of fiction that deals with economic realities – I want to mention the writer Jon Raymond and his book of stories, Livability. (Raymond’s stories provided the basis for Kelly Reichardt’s last two  films, Old Joy and Wendy and Lucy, both of which are exceptionally good.) The tales are quiet, but they have stayed with me since I read the book months ago. Livability contains two outright masterpieces – ‘The Suckling Pig’ and ‘Train Choir’ – and it didn’t get nearly the attention it deserved, although there was a nice long review in the New York Review of Books, as well as a shorter but no less thoughtful piece by my friend Max Goldberg in the San Francisco Bay Guardian.

My advice: buy it at an independent bookstore and then read it.

~ by mackenz on June 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
